My first steps in character design

Some days ago I decided to start getting into character design. By now every time I tried to make a little game for practice (for example my sidescroller shooter) I were forced to search for free sprites on the internet (or use dummy sprites) which were pretty annoying.

Starting to deal with character design my self were one of the best decisions I made so far since making games became a lot more fun. My first steps are small ones, but at least it’s a start and I can try to figure out the complete progress of making games.

For those who are interested, this is my first “serious” character project (still in progress).

character_screenshot

It’s far away from finished, but it’s a start and I hope it will be a hilarious sprite sheet and artwork in the end.

If I am done, I am going to release all sketches, or interesting states of this project so maybe it helps someone to give him a point where he/she can start.

Author: mango2go

I am a software developer for a big pharmaceutical trading company. I am interested in C++ and C# programming in general and in game development in particular (only as a hobby atm). My experience about game development is restricted to what I tought me myself so I am still in the process of learning. My goal is to become a professional game developer and find my name in the credits of a popular game one day.

Leave a Reply

